SAH MDR this June 2019!

Bank Street, Wallace, Idaho

News from the Society of Architectural Historians Marion Dean Ross (PNW) chapter

Save the Date!

The Marion Dean Ross (PNW) chapter will hold its annual meeting Friday June 21 through Sunday June 23, 2019 in Sandpoint, Coeur d’Alene and Wallace, Idaho. As per our custom, Sunday will be an optional field trip, this time to the historic mining town of Wallace. Thank you to Phil Mead, our Idaho representative, who has agreed to be our conference chair. Please let me know if you would like to help or even just give advice! A call for papers will go out in early December. Stay tuned!

SAH 2020 News

The 73rd International Session of the Society of Architectural Historians meeting will be held in Seattlefrom April 29th to May 3rd, 2020. We have been in touch with the local liaisons and will continue to support this conference in any way we can. The Call for Sessions is out, due January 15, 2019. SAH operates on a two-tiered system, with the Call for Sessions preceding a Call for Papers for the selected sessions. The Call for Papers will open in April 2019, with a deadline to submit in June. Phil Gruen, our Washington representative, and Jim Buckley, our Oregon representative, will be coordinating a session submittal for our chapter focusing on a subject area much like last year’s conference in Astoria, whose theme was, “Constructing Community: Architecture, Diversity, and Identity in the Pacific Northwest.” We are not limited to one session, however, and any member can also submit a session, so please check it out. https://www.sah.org/2020/call-for-sessions

New Membership Coordinator

Ahsha Miranda has offered to be new Membership Coordinator! Ahsah’s elevator speech is: “A Seattle native transplanted to the suburbs of Portland, I am returning to school to help find my niche to add a touch of social justice to the madcap world of real estate development. I have a passion for discovering the ethic of place and straddle that special venn diagram  of YIMBY historic preservationists. Excited to engage with such a passionate group.” Treasurer Mimi Sheridan and I will be working with Ahsha to better define her role in the next few months. Welcome Ahsha

Nominating Committee

This year is an election year for us, and we will need a Nominating Committee in place in early 2019. According to our by-laws, the Nominating Committee will “be composed of members, two of whom shall not be Officers.” Please let me know if you are interested in serving on this committee or running for office! For more information about the board and our by-laws, see the links on this page: http://www.sahmdr.org/about.html

Members in the News

Our own Grant Hildebrand was recognized with a Distinguished Faculty Award for Lifetime Achievement from the University of Washington’s College of Built Environments at their October 9, 2018 reception at the University of Washington Club. According to the University, “This award recognizes permanent, retired faculty members who have made important contributions to their field and have had significant impact on the college’s community of faculty, staff, and students.” Grant was among an august list of awardees that includes Carl Gould, Victor Steinbrueck, and David Streatfield, among others. More later in the SAHMDR blog.

Member Kelly Daviduke, who presented a paper at our last conference in Astoria entitled, “Architecture, Community, and Weyerhaeuser’s Corporate Headquarters,” has been awarded the SAH 2018 Charles E. Peterson Fellowship for her research on American schools for the deaf. Kelly is in the M.S. in Architecture (History/Theory) program at theUniversity of Washington and serves as the librarian at UW Libraries Special Collections who handles architectural materials.  Congratulations Kelly! To read Kelly’s research proposal, see https://www.sah.org/about-sah/sah-news/news-detail/2018/09/25/charles-e.-peterson-fellowship-report-summer-2018


Member Harley Cowen, who gave a presentation on making “History: Preservation Photography of National Historic Landmarks” at our 2017 conference in Victoria, was awarded the Vernacular Architecture Forum Access Award to attend the 2018 conference in Alexandria. See his entertaining report on, “Behind the Scenes and the Camera,” at http://www.vafweb.org/VAN-Fall-2018/6717958


Member Warner Blake published his monograph, J. S. White: Our First Architect about this 19th-century Snohomish architect (photos by Otto Greule) in 2017. Member Jeffrey Ochsner has reviewed the book in theFall 2018 issue of Arcade. He notes that, “Researching the history of the architecture in small towns like Snohomish is often an impossible task” and praises Blake’s work. For more information, seehttp://arcadenw.org/article/discovering-the-early-architecture-of-snohomish


In Other News


Did you know that we have a Facebook page? To the get latest news as it happens (!) you can access it from our website at: http://www.sahmdr.org/. You can “Like” us on Facebook to see our page on a regular basis. Recent articles and notices include: 

 An article on the 2018 Oregon Field School by James Buckley from the Vernacular Architecture Forum;
 Notice of an open academic position in the Historic Preservation program at the University of Oregon; 
 Notice for the SAH 2020 Call for Sessions; 
 Notice of a symposium on the restoration of the George Conrad Flavel House in Astoria, for which we received a private showing last spring; 
 An obituary for Oregonian Lewis McArthur, known in history circles for his dedication to the documentation of Oregon place names;
 An obituary for the celebrated Pacific Northwest landscape architect Richard Haag; and 
 A review of the new publication, “Canada: Modern Architectures in History,” by Rhodri Windsor Liscombe and Michelangelo Sabatino, by member Martin Segger.


Scholarship Available – due November 30th


A new bit of news: the Oregon Heritage Elisabeth Walton Potter Preservation Scholarship (not to be confused with our Elisabeth Walton Potter Research Grant!) for Oregon residents to attend a preservation-related conference, workshop, or training. For more details, see https://www.oregon.gov/oprd/HCD/FINASST/docs/EWPScholarshipInformation2018.pdf

Field school!


Job posting


Call for sessions for the Seattle 2020 SAH conference linked below!


Last spring at our SAHMDR (Society of Architectural Historians Marion Dean Ross chapter) meeting we had the privilege of a private, preview tour of the George Conrad Flavel House in Astoria as it was undergoing restoration. It was wonderful; one could see the potential in every corner. We also heard John Goodenberger’s popular talk on the family, “A Family Residence in Decline.” Now the endlessly fascinating Flavel family is the subject of a forthcoming book, and the Clatsop County Historical Society is sponsoring a three-day event NEXT WEEK to raise money for its publication. For more information see: http://www.cumtux.org/default.asp?deptid=1&com=events&eventID=32

Lewis McArthur dies at 101


Rich Haag

A great loss to the Pacific Northwest and the country. Rich Haag was at the forefront of his field in many areas, not the least of which was in the re-use of industrial sites, such as seen here in the iconic Gasworks Park in Seattle.